Southern Rocky Mountains Map

Stretching from southeastern Wyoming to the northern portion of New Mexico, the Map of the Southern Rocky Mountains projects accurate and appealing imagery of the region. It encompasses three sub-regions which include the states of Idaho, Nevada, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, deep west Texas, and New Mexico.

Capitals and major cities are captioned and state boundaries clearly demarcated. Transportation routes are numbered and drawn out neatly for reference. Significant terrain features are indicated with clarity. The Map brings out the spectacular topography and urban detaining of the region with carefully researched data, making it ideal for reference.

This map is available in 42 x 42 in. Please select a finish of your choice
See Finishes
Price from $37.99

Details on the map

The Southern Rocky Mountains Map is a simplified graphical representation of the region which aims at inviting curiosity and learning. The map encapsulates three sub-regions namely the Southwestern region, the Intermountain Region, and the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains.

The mountain states of Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming are captioned in readable fonts along with deep west Texas. Each State is projected in its true proportion and its boundaries demarcated with dark line margins. The mapping scheme includes placement of provincial capitals, major cities, significant terrain features, and national parks. It also shares information on transportation networks interlinking the entire region. Highway systems are numbered and elaborated with color-coded route charts.

A useful legend simplifies symbolic data like airports, parks, and recreational areas. Comprehensive detailing and attractive color palette make this map an elegant poster display and ideal for geographic reference.

  • Location on the map

    The Rocky Mountain region is one of the most diverse regions of the United States. Boundaries of this sector include California and the Mexican province of Baja California in the southwest whereas Oklahoma and Kansas can be placed on the east. The State of Nebraska is located in the northeastern corner of this sector. Texas bounds the region from the south along with two provinces of Mexico. Western Texas, however, forms a part of this region.

  • Major Cities and Metropolitan Areas of the Region

    Phoenix in Arizona is also the most populous city of this region followed by Denver in Colorado, Las Vegas in Nevada, and Albuquerque in New Mexico. The Phoenix metropolitan area is the largest and most populous metropolitan area of the Mountain States, followed by Denver, Las Vegas, and Salt Lake City.

  • Sub-divisions of the Region

    The Map extent covers three subdivisions of the Rocky Mountains which include the Southwest Region, the Intermountain Region and the Front Range.

      Southwest Region: The Southwest region comprises Arizona, New Mexico, Southern Nevada which includes the Las Vegas Valley and deep west Texas which lies west of the Pecos River.

      Intermountain Region: This region consists of Arizona, Utah, Nevada, Idaho along with portions of other states.

      Front Range: This region encompasses northern New Mexico, Colorado, and Southeast Wyoming.

  • Prominent Peaks of this region

    Mount Elbert is the highest summit of the Rocky Mountains and is located in the state of Colorado. Mount Massive is the second highest peak in this region. Wheeler Peak is the highest natural point in New Mexico.

  • Time Zone

    The Region follows three different time zones. Most of the mountain states follow the Mountain Standard Time. However, some parts of the states of Idaho, Nevada and Texas fall under Pacific and Central Time Zone respectively.

      Mountain Time Zone: Colorado, Arizona, Utah, New Mexico, Wyoming, the southern part of Idaho, and a small portion of western Texas falls under the Mountain Time Zone and observes the Mountain Standard Time (MST) which is 7 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

      Pacific Time Zone: Nevada and the northern part of Idaho falls under the Pacific time zone and follows the Pacific Standard Time (PST) which is 8 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

      Central Time Zone: The eastern part of Texas falls under Central time Zone and follows the Central Standard Time (CST) which is 6 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

More about the Rocky Mountain States

The states of Idaho, Nevada, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, deep west Texas, and New Mexico are a part of the Rocky Mountain region.

    Colorado: Colorado is divided into 64 Counties and the Capital of the state is Denver. The Rocky Mountain National Park and the Mesa Verde National Park are part of the state. The Zip Code in the state of Colorado ranges from 80001- 81658.

    Arizona: Phoenix is the capital of Arizona and the most populous city of the state. It is also known as Valley of the Sun" due to its location in the Salt River Valley. Arizona is divided into 15 counties. Coconino is the largest county by area whereas Maricopa County is the largest by population. The Range of Zipcodes in Arizona state is from 85001-86556.

    Utah: The capital city of Salt Lake is the most populous municipality and also the first European settlement in Utah. The two important National parks of the state are Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The State of Utah is divided into 29 counties and the Range of Zip codes in the state of Utah is from 84001- 84791.

    New Mexico: Santa Fe is the capital city of New Mexico. The name of the city means “Holy Faith” in Spanish and is considered one of the world’s great art cities famous for the many art galleries. New Mexico has 33 Counties. The Range of Zip codes in New Mexico is from 87001-88439.

    Idaho: Capital city Boise is the largest settlement of the State. Idaho has 29 Counties, the largest county by area in Idaho County, and the largest in terms of population is Ada County. The Range of Zip codes in the state of Idaho is from 83201- 83877.

    Nevada: Nevada derives its name from a Spanish word meaning “ Snow Covered”. Nevada is the ninth least densely populated state of the nation Nevada is divided into 16 Counties and one independent City. Carson City is the only consolidated City county of Nevada. Las Vegas is the most populated city and the state capital is Carson City. The Zip Code in the State Ranges from 88901-89883.

    Wyoming: Wyoming is the second most sparsely populated state of The US but the 10th largest in terms of area. Wyoming has 23 Counties and Cheyenne is the capital of the state. The Range of Zip codes in Wyoming is from 82001-83414.

    Texas: Texas is the second-largest state in the USA. Capital city Austin is the second most populous city of the state and the 11the most populous city of the nation. It has 254 Counties more than any other state in the US. The largest county by population in Harris County and the largest County in terms of the land area is Brewster County. The Range of Zip codes in Texas is from 75001-75398.

Other Products

Wide ranges of products are available for perusal

More Information
SKU mappingspecialists-MSLHSRM-1
Size 42 x 42 in
Publisher Name Mapping Specialists
Map Scale 1:1,200,000
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Southern Rocky Mountains Map
Your Rating
Please type the letters and numbers below
Attention: Captcha is case sensitive.
Copyright © 2020 MapTrove. All rights reserved.